Hotel California

Here it starts!In this section “Reading”, I would like to share with you books I’ve read and enjoyed, but also books I’ve read which maybe I shouldn’t have…
And if it’s make you read it, and even enjoy it, well I’ll be happy!
If you’ve read it too and wish to comment – like “yeah, that’s so true!!!”, or “that’s bulls**t”, do not hesitate as well!!

So, for my first post in this section, I have decided to talk to you about a book I recently finished, and for which I was able to complete the reading with a magazine I found by chance.

Hotel California

The book in question is HOTEL CALIFORNIA by Barney Hoskyns, Singer-Songwriters and Cocaine Cowboys in the LA Canyons, 1967-1976.
The title is explicit enough, and the Independent adds: “An explosive new book that reveals the debauchery which fuelled, then finally destroyed, the West Coast scene”.

Well, I have to explain first that I have a great interest in this specific time and place in music.
Is it due to childhood or by choice?… Maybe both…
One thing for sure is that I am now happy about what my parents used to listen when I was a kid (and still are!)

I was always fascinated by this Flower Power period, and always thought I was born at the wrong place and at the wrong time…
But the more I read about it, the more I discover it was not that perfect.
(this said, that does not mean I would not be curious anymore…)

The book starts when the West Coast, with mainly Los Angeles and San Francisco, started to be considered as a music spot, taking over New York, and represented mainly by the new sound of a band called The Byrds…
And it ends with the decadence – money, drugs… – leading to a change in the music world and the “end of an era”.
The book title obviously refers to the song by The Eagles, a band which announced the change, becoming superstars, playing in stadiums and becoming multimillionaires.
The author explains how all this craze happened, linking it to the various historic events which took place and shook America, with main characters such as Joni Mitchell, Crosby Stills Nash and Young, The Eagles, James Taylor, Jackson Browne & Co., and of course David Geffen, the “man who linked them all”.

If you want to know more about the writer, I leave you “google” it!!

The funny thing is that, once I finish reading this book, I found a special edition of the Rolling Stones Magazine, which chose the same subject.
A little repetitive, you would say…
And so what?! I would answer! 🙂
Hey, there’s even pictures in colour!!

If you don’t like reading – well, then, it’s a shame – I can only recommend the fantastic documentary from the BBC,  Hotel California LA music from The Byrds to The Eagles:

BBC Four – Hotel California: LA from the Byrds to the Eagles

“Dear Stephen, funny how some things that start spontaneously end that way. Eat a peach. Neil” – 1976

Leave a comment

