JOHN by Cynthia Lennon

Here’s the book I have recently devoured; almost 400 pages that I read quite quickly, as I really was into the story…

DSCF0154_o-maticI am interested in anything that concerns The Beatles.
The thing is, the more you read about the Fab Four, the less you discover new insights.
What I really enjoyed about this book is that it is again the story of the rise of The Beatles, but this time seen through the eyes of Cynthia Lennon, first wife of John Lennon, from her meeting with John to the beginning of the noughties, along with some pictures.

Of course, this is her view, her story, but I had the feeling that she tried to be as objective as possible, as hard this could be.
And well, John Lennon had a dark side…
The more interesting part for me is the time when John met Yoko Ono, divorced Cynthia and everything that happened until his death.
The account of the discovery of John and Yoko’s relationship is worth the read!…
Personally, I have never been a big fan of Yoko Ono; some events made her rise in my esteem, but this book does not help…
I am not gonna tell all the stories, I will let you read the book if ever you are yourself interested. I will just share one passage which struck me, when Cynthia found out that John had been killed:
“[…] Julian and I went up to the bedroom to ring Yoko. […] she agreed that she would like Julian to join her. […] I told her I was worried about the state he was in, but Yoko made it clear that I was not welcome. ‘It’s not as though you’re an old schoolfriend of mine, Cynthia.'”

Then, the other thing I felt by reading this book is that Cynthia made everything for his son, Julian. No matter how sad or bad she was feeling, she was always trying her best for her son to be good and less traumatised as possible.
One thing that was already known, and confirmed in the book, is that Julian never got the chance to have a real father & son relationship.

And despite all she experienced, Cynthia never held a grudge against John; she finished the book by saying:
“He was an extraordinary man: talented, flawed, a creative genius […]. I never stopped loving John […].”

 

Next, I am planning to read Wonderful Tonight: George Harrison, Eric Clapton, and Me by Pattie Boyd…

 

“There are places I remember all my life,
Though some have changed,
Some forever, not for better,
Some have gone and some remain”
(In my life)

 

Leave a comment

